Two Months

It’s been two months since I began traveling. Or, it was two months on Nov 6, when I was in Namche descending from the Base Camp trek. This means that my trip is more than one-third over! I can hardly believe it. Some stats:

  • 3,562 miles traveled (since Oct 6)
  • 11,562 total miles traveled (since Sept 6)
  • 11 books read*
  • 88 hours on trains

Favorite activities and sights:

  • Tiger Leaping Gorge trek in Yunnan, China
  • Deliciously spicy food in Sichuan province, China
  • Spinning prayer wheels in Lhasa, Tibet
  • Hanging with my favorite travel companions so far: Martin and Marzena, a Polish-Argentine couple in Yunn
  • Bumping into a friend’s brother in the tiny Lukla airport, Nepal
  • EBC trek in all its miserable glory

So how am I doing at the two-month mark? While trekking, I realized that I was homesick. Yes, the crowded, dirty lodges and extreme cold factored into this realization, but I genuinely began to miss my happy Pittsburgh life. I daydreamed at length about fun things to do at home, things to cook, things to grow in the garden, places to eat, people to see, bridges to cross.

But, of course, I’m not ready to turn around and go home. In fact, it breaks my heart to know that this trip is already more than one-third over! I have much to look forward to–India is next! I’m happy and healthy, and Pittsburgh is a happy thought about the life that awaits me at home.

In terms of my backpack and stuff, I’m doing well. I think I’ve seen the last of cold now, so I can begin to shed some of my layers and lighten my load a bit. I realized today that in an overzealous backpack-organizing session, I accidentally threw away my supply of contact lenses–a real loss. I’m not sure how to fix that. I might have to wear glasses for the next four months, because I likely can’t find my prescription here (I’m super blind in my left eye) and they are too expensive to order from the US and have brought here by a visitor. Oh well. Otherwise, I haven’t lost anything else besides the case to my quick-dry towel: A pain, but no big deal.

*Some from book exchanges, others from Eric’s Kindle account:

  • Tower, Wells: Everything Ravaged, Everything Burned
  • Franzen, Jonathan: Freedom
  • Murakami, Haruki: After the Quake
  • Kerschen, Karen: Violeta Parra
  • Harrer, Henrich: Seven Years in Tibet
  • Hilton, James: Lost Horizon
  • Chopra, Deepak: Buddha
  • Kingsolver, Barbara: Prodigal Summer
  • Krakauer, Jon: Into Thin Air
  • Naipaul, V.S.: In a Free State
  • Gibson, William: Idoru
One response to “Two Months

  1. Not an immediate fix, but I can bring them over in a month and a half. Too expensive? Worth it for the ability to see clearly.

Leave a Reply

