Hostel blues

Ah, yes, sleeping in hostels. I’d forgotten, almost. Six-bed all-female dorm last night. It had its ups and downs. I love having only women in the room and will book that way as often as possible. The downside was that I was absolutely exhausted and fell into a deep sleep, only to be awakened a million freaking times by the Japanese girl in the bunk below me getting up for various reasons. Then, at 5 a.m., she got up for good and commenced a lengthy packing session which involved lots of shuffling of plastic bags. Finally, at 7:30, the Austrian in the bed next to her said “Please, I beg you, just half an hour of sleep.” and the Japanese girl finally disappeared. But it was too late. I was awake and couldn’t get back to sleep.

Lenin is closed today. This means no glimpse of Lenin’s dead body for me. Oh well.  Today, on to Perm via train leaving Moscow at noon. Arriving tomorrow around the same time.

One response to “Hostel blues

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever advised anyone to emulate the Austrian perspective, but perhaps you will get more sleep the next time if you do. I skyped with Gabe today and he reminded me about your blog. While I will not be hosteling, you are inspiring me to run away from home. Keep it up. Living vicariously! Love,Susan

Leave a Reply

